The Roost opened in October 2019 and has since welcomed many happy guests, some of whom return again and again.

Read guest reviews here and via the links below:

FreetoBook reviews
Google reviews
AirBnB reviews

  • Great place and well thought out. A family of 4, 2 adults, 2 kids stayed in 2 cabins. The cabin was warm, comfy bunk beds and a place to securely... read more

    Adele Costello Avatar Adele Costello
    30th September 2023

    Second time staying at the roost whilst visiting bike park wales for the weekend. 10/10 again. Place is kept immaculate. Locals are friendly and just an all round great place... read more

    Connor Sloan Avatar Connor Sloan
    17th June 2023

    Brilliant stay at the Roost. Really well set up, very clean, good bathrooms and kitchen facilities very well thought out. Brilliant Location for Bike Park Wales. Safe secure location for the bikes.

    Rob Holmes Avatar Rob Holmes
    6th October 2021
  • Perfect accommodation for Bike Park Wales or any other outdoorsy break. We are repeat visitors and booked the entire site for 9 adults exclusive use. The whole site is beautifully maintained... read more

    James Hynd Avatar James Hynd
    17th June 2023

    It was seriously like what a safari holiday might be!! A small site with about 6 pods on and individual kitchen pods which had all the utensils, mugs, plates, cutlery,... read more

    steve simpson Avatar steve simpson
    29th June 2022

    Amazing 3 night stay for me and my son for our trip to Bike Park Wales. Thank you to Kris and Kath who were always on hand to make our... read more

    Liam Baldwin Avatar Liam Baldwin
    17th April 2023
  • Really nice little place on the hill side, perfect for us who stayed just two nights, we were only down the road at bike park Wales. Brilliant little set up,... read more

    Terry Howlett Avatar Terry Howlett
    20th May 2022

    Stayed at the Roost for a long weekend with a friend as we were mountain biking at Bike Park Wales and Cwmcarn. The site is very secure and mountain bike... read more

    Jim Holgate Avatar Jim Holgate
    11th October 2021

    Had an amazing stay at The Roost whilst visiting Bike Park Wales. We had a large enough group to book the full site, which was great. The cabins are superb... read more

    Rup Hoyland Avatar Rup Hoyland
    9th October 2022
  • The Roost is fantastic, Kath was on hands to help out with any issue we had. The kitchen and shower rooms spotless as was the lodge. Highly recommend and will... read more

    Dale Sexbery Avatar Dale Sexbery
    17th May 2023

    I stayed in my campervan at the site, there was a good parking space providing on hard standing, with an electric hook up point. I was provided with a code... read more

    Tim Knight Avatar Tim Knight
    24th October 2023

    Recently stayed at the Roost with my family for a 2 day cycling trip to Bike Park Wales. Simple accommodation but very clean, warm and cosy. Great cooking facilities and... read more

    Neil jago Avatar Neil jago
    6th December 2021
  • We ha an excellent stay at The Roost, using it as a base for mountain biking in the region, at Bike Park Wales, Afan Valley and Dirt Farm. It's... read more

    Rachel Oliver Avatar Rachel Oliver
    27th July 2022

    Brilliant find! Kids loved staying there and want to come again already. Great to be on the taff trail which was perfect for getting the kids out on their bikes. Staff very... read more

    Amy Avatar Amy
    30th July 2023

    Another great stay at the Roost! Always a pleasure visiting, this is our third year in a row. Beautiful setting and super-handy if you're visiting Bike Park Wales - 5... read more

    David Broomhead Avatar David Broomhead
    6th July 2022

"This was our third stay this year "2023" and still as great as ever, perfect location, everything you need at hand for a stay after a hard days bike riding at Bike park Wales. Communication from the owner Kath regarding bookings and details of arrivals is clear and easy to follow. will be booking again for early 2024!!." November 2023

"Beautiful cabins, they may only be small but they have everything you need. The beds are super comfortable,They were very clean, and the views are brilliant. The bike wash station is fully equipped which came is useful after a days biking in the rain. I'll definitely be booking again next time im down there biking." November 2023

"Everything is so well thought out at The Roost. Even in torrential rain after a day’s biking we felt warm, safe and comfortable. The cabins are more spacious than you think, and the kitchen is very cute and has everything you need. We even enjoyed a log fire on our last evening. The views of the mountains are stunning . A wonderful trip." October 2023

"Perfect basic accommodation- absolutely everything you need done in a beautifully simplistic way with easy access to amazing Brecon Beacons." October 2023

"The facilities are excellent. The little kitchens had everything we needed. It was great that we could connect the two kitchens for both our families to be able to eat together. The kids also loved using the fire pit. The location was quiet and we all slept well in the cosy cabins." October 2023

"I stayed here in a campervan, Staff were really communicative using the online tool, I could check myself in using the gate code, I had access to Power, Water and my own Shower/Toilet room. It was a great base for my two days in Merthyr." October 2023

"Excellent location for Bike Park Wales!" October 2023

"A great place to stay. Clean and stocked with everything you will need. Really close to bike park wales. Had a great few days and will definitely be back soon!" October 2023

"Really cosy cabins, kitchen facilities are stocked with everything you require to cook, very clean showers with hot water. Very handy bike wash with muc off cleaner and a soft brush. Very secure for all belongings including bikes." September 2023

"Perfect place to stay for Bike Park Wales, has everything you need." September 2023

"Great facilities great cabins all you need." September 2023

"Very helpful and prompt communications from Kath which helped us make the booking even as we were cycling in on the same day. A peaceful and very handy location for the Lon Las Cymru." September 2023

"Very well organised and well thought through." September 2023

"Great friendly service everything that you need is there." September 2023

"Fabulous location for Bike Park Wales and perfect set up. All the fun of camping (fire pit, outdoorsy stuff) but with a proper bed, heating, private bathroom, fridge, kettle and microwave! They’ve thought of everything…pans, utensils, torches, first aid kit, washing up liquid, bike wash area, dry room, trays to put muddy stuff on, lovely outdoor furniture, pizza oven, BBQs, security gates, tea bags…fantastic attention to detail." September 2023

"We had a great stay and it is In perfect location for Bike Park Wales." August 2023

"Loved the comfy bed, great shower, all the homely details inside (decor, kitchen facilities, handy lights, flexible seating options) and we enjoyed a BBQ & sat outside in the evening. Pleased to be able recycle. Wish we’d had time to have a go with the pizza oven. Some noise from A470 but we were expecting that." August 2023

"Can’t do enough for us. Great communication fantastic facilities." August 2023

"Been here several times. Always fantastic. Clean, comfortable and the people that run it are really nice. What more could you need." August 2023

"Second visit of the summer as base for BPW, third in total. Kath always welcoming and prepares us. Group of 7 this time so opened up the two kitchens which was great for the evening that it rained so we could all keep dry together, even better with better weather on the second evening as opened up the kitchens to enjoy outside and the fire pit." August 2023

"Great place. Really cool. Slept well." August 2023

"Great place to stay. My family and I really enjoyed our 2 nights at The Roost. Very clean with everything you need. Easy to book and check in and out, friendly staff. Felt safe and secure. Great views and close to local shops, town centre and BikePark Wales (the reason we visited Wales). We will definitely be back." August 2023

"Another excellent stay at the Roost for a group weekend at Bike Park Wales. the perfect accommodation for activity weekends away from home. New Pizza Oven is brilliant!" August 2023

"Lovely place." August 2023

"Fantastically located for the bike park, and fantastically well catered for bike storage, cleaning etc. Kath was great with communications and very generous on letting us keep the van in the car park for a few hours past check out. We’ll definitely come back!" August 2023

"Second visit for my son and I for a couple of days at BPW, visited with friends this time around. Great spot to base yourselves for BPW, Taff Trail, Brecons, especially as a small group. Kitchen facilities great to cook up breakfast and keep beers cold for after ride, each cabin has own bbq, and a lovely fire pit area and newly installed pizza oven. Looking forward to coming back in a few weeks with another group." August 2023

"It was a short stay with a friend on our way to Bike Wales Park. The location was superb, quiet and had all the amenities needed. The cabin was tidy, clean and spacious. Loads of outdoor spaces to sit and relax on good days." August 2023

"Brilliantly clean comfortable pods kitchens and shower blocks. Perfect for Bike Park Wales. Even provide bike wash. A lot of thought has gone into the design including as many environmentally friendly features as possible. Well done." July 2023

"I frequently visit the Roost and everytime I visit it just seems to get better and better. All the little details just make it great. You couldn't ask for nicer hosts too - ready to help but not intrusive...As Arnie says in the Terminator film, "I'll be back"!" July 2023

"Stayed here for 2 nights while I was visiting bike park Wales, really nice place to stay with all the facilities you'll need for a short stay/weekend. Only slight niggle was the noise from the road next to the site but I didn't mind putting up with that for how nice the place is!" July 2023

"Very comfortable, well equipped and close to Bike Park Wales. We found the beds super comfy, lots of hot water and all we needed to cook and make coffee etc. Kath is a brilliant host and so efficient with information to make your stay the best." July 2023

"Perfectly placed for all the local fun things to do. really great value for money and great showers." July 2023

"A lovely tranquil, quiet, relaxing place to stay. All the family will need. Very clean and well kept. They can't do enough to please you. Trouble free. Awesome." June 2023

"Such a nice little gem so close to Bike Park Wales. All the comforts needed and a view to boot. All other reviewers have covered precisely what can be said about the roost, I simply cant add without repeating, just go ahead and trust the masses and book, you wont regret it!" June 2023

"Really enjoyed my night stay at The Roost! The site had everything you need for a night away. Spotlessly clean, well equipped kitchen and comfy beds! Very simple check in/out." June 2023

"A great little find! The cabins are really well thought through with plenty of space, bike storage and very comfy beds! Bathroom and kitchen had everything we needed, environmentally friendly and were very clean. The site is secure and peaceful. Kath was fab with her communications too." June 2023

"Very clean, every where. Super comfy beds, hot shower and cosy cabins after a day riding. Excellent communication from Host. The kitchen area was brilliant, everything you would require." June 2023

"Second time stay and again it didn't disappoint. Fantastic place. We stayed in the self contained lodge and it had everything we needed plus super comfy beds. It's in riding distance to Bike Park Wales which is a bonus!! Ample off street parking and bike wash." June 2023

"Really nice little lodges perfectly equipped for outdoor activities. Great location with good facilities with everything we needed. Easy to find and all the info was emailed to us in advance. Will definitely be returning." June 2023

"2nd time visit! Lovely clean place. Highly recommended there. Will coming back again." May 2023

"They have thought of everything you need for a weekend biking or walking." May 2023

"The Roost is a perfect base for Bike Park Wales or exploring the area. The facilities are warm, clean and they've thought of everything: Bike wash, bike storage, outside lights, fire pit, night lights in the cabin. The kitchens also have everything you need. You get your own kitchen and bathroom so you can leave stuff in there which makes your stay easier too. It's a lovely place to stay and we will definitely book again." April 2023

"We have been regular visitors at the Roost for the past few years. The whole family love staying there. The cabins and facilities are warm, clean and have everything we need for a comfortable stay. Every time we come there seem to be more new additions. This time we noticed even more lighting around the car park and bike wash area which made loading up at night even better. New drying room and solar panels. Looking forward to our next stay." April 2023

"Great little place, ideally located near BikePark Wales, clean and facilities were as described." March 2023

"Impeccably clean and tidy, well organised and good comms." March 2023

"Just had a weekend at The Roost, we stayed in cabin Del Fryn. Perfect location for all sorts of activities. Room was large enough for the four of us, bunk beds comfy, warm and clean. The outside kitchen was fully equipped and shower room had everything you’d expect and need. Love the fact they are sustainable and encourage recycling and reusable items. Kath kept us informed of all necessary information regarding checking in and out from start to finish. The location is very secure with keypad gate access. Beautifully set out perfect little hide away for chilling after a day of exploring. We are already looking to book again this year. Thank you for a lovely stay." March 2023

"Great place, really easy to book and Kath was super helpful all the time. in my opinion far nicer to stay at and better to support a local business than a national hotel/bed and breakfast chain. clean ,tidy and everything you could need whilst staying! even a bike wash on site after going to bike park wales." March 2023

“Amazing hidden gem. Well thought out accommodation. Everything you needed provided. Loads of little extra touches. Perfect. Close to Merthyr, shops, restaurants and activities. Can't wait to go back.” February 2023

“Kath and Kris are great hosts. Very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay there, 5min drive from BPW. Has all you need as a mountain biker looking for excellent accommodation close to BPW. Definitely staying there again.” February 2023

A few from 2022

“Very good location for Bike Park Wales, very clean and great little place to stay, it’s made very easy with the electric gates and key codes, secure storage for bikes, bike wash. Friendly pub next door! Definitely be staying here again!” November 2022

“Clean well thought out and sustainable tourism.” October 2022

“Perfect place if you want easy access to so many activities. Such a great set up even the rain couldn’t dampen our spirits!! We’ll definitely be back!” October 2022

“An absolutely perfect base for a few days of mountain biking and walking. Beautiful location, with stylish, functional cabins and facilities. Kath and Kris are warm and welcoming hosts, and we had a fabulous time.” October 2022

“The Roost has thought of everything! Every attention to detail has been given to make your stay comfortable and so easy. The beds are also super comfy. A real little sanctuary of nature and calm tucked away from the rest of the world. Would definitely recommend for families and hassle free ‘camping/glamping.’” October 2022

“Second time staying at The Roost. Didn't disappoint. Great place. Clean, warm with everything you need. We'll be back.” September 2022

“Excellent location and perfect for Bike Park Wales and simple and easy access to the site and cabins, so much better than some of the local hotels I've used previously wish I'd found these a few years ago. Will definitely be trying to book again.” September 2022

“Second time I've stayed here. Really nice place. Well located, right next to the train station. Next door to bike park wales. Kitchen facilities, bike lock up, comfy beds, showers. What more do you need. Highly recommend.” August 2022

“We have had several stays here now, very clean, great sustainability ethos, well equipped and thoughtfully laid out cabins and kitchens. Nice to see the trees growing and the grounds becoming established into a wildlife and bird haven.” August 2022

"Such an amazing place! It has everything you need and is a great base for Bike Park Wales. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this and think the owners have done a commendable job in designing and running this great place to stay!" August 2022

"What a fantastic place!! The facilities provided were first class!! Fully equipped kitchen, except for an oven but had electric hob, kettle, fridge, pots and pans. Excellent toilet and showering facilities. The pod where I stayed was spacious for 2 people and if your concerned about the bunk beds like I was... don't be!! They took my weight of 18 stone. Easy access to Bike Park Wales. There's a Tesco 10mins away if you need provisions. I cannot rate this place enough and the host Kath, was very quick to respond to msgs and sent me really easy to understand instructions on access to the accommodation. I also thought that the posters that were placed everywhere were really useful too." June 2022

"A beautiful hidden gem, the Roost offers lovely accommodation set within a secluded tree setting but close to all amenities, it's very clean and offers everything you need for a relaxing stay." June 2022

"We are regular visitors to the roost and every time we stay, the accommodation is always clean and welcoming. Everything has been thought of to make your stay easy and enjoyable. Seeing the birds on the feeders was an extra bonus this time! Great location for bike park Wales and everything else in the Cardiff and Brecon Beacons area." April 2022

From 2021 and before

"If you are looking for something that is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced that is close to Bike Park Wales - this place is ideal. The facilities are well thought out and extremely practical and tick all the boxes. Even in winter the rooms were warm with plenty of room, even our beloved steeds got a bed for the night! I almost don't want to write a good review as otherwise others will book this place up! Kath was very helpful and maintained good contact pre and during our stay. Thank you so much for opening up for us. We will be back!" December 2021

"Cosy, clean, comfortable and warm. Our first stay at the Roost but we would love to come back. The bathroom and cooking facilities were excellent (as was the bike cleaning facility). Our kids want to move in permanently!" November 2021

"This is a lovely little glamping site with great facilities. The cabins are warm and cosy, great independent kitchen and shower room. Handy bike wash area. A hidden gem that's becoming a favorite place for us to stay when visiting South Wales for mountain biking." October 2021

"What a beautiful little place this was. I would definitely recommend this especially if you are looking to explore the local countryside or looking to ride at Wales bike park which is a 5 minute drive away. Impeccably clean and all facilities you could possibly need are provided. Thank you so much Kath and team...will definitely return next year." October 2021

"Perfect facilities if you are looking for mountain biking accommodation in this area. Excellent - secure site with inbuilt bike stores in each unit. Clean and with a well stocked kitchen. I would come again, in fact we will be planning our next trip shortly! Highly recommended." May 2021

"Best accommodation for Bike park Wales. A must for all mountain bikers you would have to be mad not to book 10/10." September 2020

Some of our first reviews from 2019 (we officially opened in the October)

"What can I say about Roost Merthyr other than it’s been one of the best Places I’ve ever stayed at!!
Cosy cabins with incredible attention to detail, beautifully designed and handcrafted. You can really tell a lot of love and passion has gone into everything.
Environmental & sustainable care with rain water flushing loos, toilet paper and products.
Unbelievably clean and tidy and just the perfect place to relax after hiking in the Beacons.
Kris who we had the privilege off meeting upon arrival was friendly and welcoming and showed us around and took the time to talk to us about the project that’s been years in the making. Would go back again and again!!" December 2019

"Lovely, warm couple with a wealth of local information and knowledge to help with your stay.
Close to Bike Park Wales for mountain biking or the Beacons for walking etc.
Wonderful idea of a modern camping style but in timber pods and with a real feel of getting back to nature.
I loved the communal kitchen idea being able to sit looking at the hills whilst having breakfast and when the weather permits, being able to do it alfresco with other guests.
They have harnessed the environmental aspects of having a business like this and have opted for rainwater harvesting in some areas of the venue which I love and gives them a much higher green-rating than any other accommodation that I have experienced.
I love this place and would love to return with my young family." October 2019